Waitress Problems

I am a broke, full-time, stressed out college student that only has the time to spare to work on nights and weekends. So naturally, I have a bright idea to be a waitress for the flexible hours and USUALLY decent pay. Although I love my job 95% of the time, I have accumulated a plethora of things that as a server in the food service industry, I am TIRED of hearing. Here’s a few for you to enjoy:

“What salad dressings do you have?”

Okay, this one seems like an innocent question. But where I work, we have at least 10 different ones for me to list. So when you ask me to list every single salad dressing we have, and you STILL just order ranch, I’m gonna be angry.

 Tipping in change, or not at all.

Unless you have a neat roll of quarters, I do not want your sticky pennies, nickels, and dimes you snagged out of your cup holder. If you can’t afford to tip the correct amount, or not at all, please do not go out to eat.

Whistle to get my attention.

I’m sorry, do I look like a dog to you??

Sending a more-than-half-eaten meal back to the kitchen.

Classic. You ate half your steak, all your sides, but don’t want to pay for your meal for whatever reason. Sorry, doesn’t work that way pal.

Blaming your server for EVERYTHING.

Please be aware of the fact I did not make the menu, did not cook the food, set the hours for the restaurant, or know if the breading that we deep fry everything in is gluten-free (seriously, wtf is with this gluten-free thing now??).

“We are NEVER coming back here.”

Fine by me. Generally if a customer is upset with something, their server and a manager will try and resolve it in any way possible. If you still get angry enough with us to get THIS mad, I don’t want to have to deal with serving you again anyway.

Leave a Reply

